

## PRESS RELEASE OREGON HOUSE DEMOCRATS

For Immediate Release Nov. 16, 2020 For More Information, Contact: Aaron Fiedler: 503-986-1904 aaron.fiedler@oregonlegislature.gov

## **Oregon House Democrats Elect 2021 Leadership Team**

House Democrats return a supermajority to the Oregon House

SALEM – Oregon House Democrats today elected their leadership team for the 2021 legislative session. The team for the upcoming legislative session includes:

## 2021 House Democratic Leadership Team

Speaker of the House nomination: Rep. Tina Kotek

Speaker Pro Tempore nomination: Rep. Paul Holvey

House Majority Leader: Rep. Barbara Smith Warner

House Majority Whip: Rep. Andrea Salinas

House Majority Deputy Whip: Rep. Julie Fahey

Assistant House Majority Leader: Rep. Pam Marsh

Assistant House Majority Leader: Rep. Rachel Prusak

Assistant House Majority Leader: Rep. Janeen Sollman

"It is an incredible honor to be selected by my colleagues to continue serving as their leader," said House Majority Leader Smith Warner. "In the weeks and months ahead, we are going to have to work together to tackle significant budget challenges, ensure we are remaking institutions with an eye toward racial justice and equity to better serve every Oregonian, respond to the ongoing COVID-19 crisis and help individuals and small businesses recover. We are ready to continue doing the hard work of building a better Oregon for everyone."

Additional members serving in ex-officio leadership positions are Co-Chair of the Joint Committee on Ways and Means, Rep. Dan Rayfield, and Chair of the House Committee on Revenue, Rep. Nancy Nathanson.

The constitutional officers—Speaker of the House and Speaker Pro Tempore—are elected in a vote by the entire Oregon House of Representatives on Monday, Jan. 11, 2021. Rep. Tina Kotek,

for House Speaker, and Rep. Paul Holvey, for Speaker Pro Tempore, will be placed into nomination at that time.

The 81st Legislative Assembly officially begins its work on Tuesday, Jan. 19, 2021.